Member-supported news for Southern California
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Support for KPCC comes from:

Ready for another election? Los Angeles city council, LAUSD contests in March

LOS ANGELES, CA - MAY 21:  A man marks his ballot in an election that is expected to have very low voter turnout for the race between Los Angeles City Controller Wendy Greuel and Councilman Eric Garcetti for Los Angeles mayor on May 21, 2013 in Los Angeles, California. Greuel could become the first-ever woman mayor of Los Angeles in her bid to replace two-time mayor Antonio Villaraigosa.  (Photo by David McNew/Getty Images)
David McNew/Getty Images
The filing period for the city of Los Angeles' 2015 election closed Thursday.

Los Angeles residents will be asked in March to vote on 15 openings in the Los Angeles City Council, Board of Education and Community College Districts.

The filing period for the March 2015 primary closed Wednesday. The final list of candidates will be made available on Dec. 15, after officials have time to verify candidates had gathered enough signatures. But so far it doesn't appear that there will be any surprises.

The races:

  • The most high profile contest will be for the City Council's 14th District where incumbent Councilman Jose Huizar is being challenged by Gloria Molina, who left her seat on the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors this week due to term limits. The district includes parts of downtown and Boyle Heights.
  • Several candidates are vying to replace Councilman Tom LaBonge who will be termed out of office after 14 years. Among those hoping to succeed him in the Fourth District are his former chief of staff Carolyn Ramsay, the chief of staff to Councilman Paul Koretz, Joan Pelico, former Assemblyman Wally Knox, former aide to Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, Teddy Davis, and Community College Trustee Steve Veres. 
  • In the San Fernando Valley's Sixth District, there will be a rematch between Councilwoman Nury Martinez and her 2013 opponent Cindy Montanez. 
  • In the Eighth District in South L.A., Robert L. Cole Jr. of the Los Angeles County Citizens' Economy & Efficiency Commission and Marqueece Harris-Dawson with the Community Coalition have each qualified to run for the seat held by Councilman Bernard Parks. Because of term limits, Parks cannot run for the office again.
  • Councilmen Paul Krekorian, Herb Wesson and Mitch Englander appear to be running for reelection unopposed, but that could change later this month when election officials release candidates' names. 

Also on the ballot will be odd-numbered districts for the Los Angeles Unified Board of Education and L.A. Community College District Board of Trustees. Incumbent school board members George McKenna, Tamar Galatzan, Bennett Kayser and Richard Vladovic are all running again.  
The election will be held on March 3, 2015, with a runoff scheduled for May 19.

To qualify, candidates had to submit 500 signatures from registered voters and pay a $300 fee or submit the signatures of at least 1,000 registered voters from their district.